Enter your search terms:
Top

如要有效減肥就要食素嗎?

澳洲註冊營養師丶香港營養師協會 (HKDA)認可營養師林思為

許多研究指出,均衡的素食能減低患上一些長期病患的機會包括肥胖症、心臟病、高血脂、高血壓、二型糖尿病、腎病、骨質疏鬆症和一些癌症等。近年更有些研究指素食有助改善情緒健康。主要的原因是素食者日常攝取較少飽和脂肪、反式脂肪和動物蛋白質,同時也攝取較多有益的營養素如膳食纖維、不飽和脂肪 (單元、多元及奧米加3和6脂肪酸)、維他命A、C和E、葉酸、鉀、鎂丶抗氧化物和其他植物元素等。而素食者亦較非素食較注重其他健康因素,例如少吸煙丶少喝酒和多做運動等,因此素食者的體重通常較吃肉的人輕型,而當中全素食 (Vegan)者的體重最輕。

素食者也分好多種類,例如:

但其實只要實行到多元化低脂肪的均衡飲食,無論素食和非素食都可令身體更健康。相反若茹素時吃得不均衡也很容易導到營養不良或過剩。部份素食食品可以含非常高的熱量和脂肪,例如炸薯片丶薯條丶朱古力丶汽水丶果汁丶椰汁/奶丶糖果丶甜麵包丶即食麵丶植物牛油丶植脂奶粉丶椰子油和棕櫚油,沙律醬或菜油等,過量進食也會令身體儲存過多熱量導致肥胖。美國心髒病學會2017年刊登的研究報告指跟隨一個不均衡的素食模式可是患心臟病率增加32%。

另外中式素食的菜式很多時都會利用油炸,油炆,紅燒及多獻汁烹調,令素食頓時變得不健康。例如一碟乾燒伊麵含約1,300千卡和14茶匙油,而一碟羅漢齋飯已含有900千卡和9茶匙油。其他如炸豆泡,麵根,齋鹵味,炸支竹等大豆類食物雖然屬於植物性食物,但含油量也非常高,所以肥胖的素食者應少吃以上食品。

很多認為多吃水果和多喝果汁無害,但不要忘記水果和果汁都含果糖和熱量,吃過量有可能影響血糖和三酸甘油脂水平,也不利體重控制。除了糖分和脂肪外,某些素食食品也可能含有很高水平的反式脂肪,攝取過量反式脂肪可增加血內壞膽固醇,同時降低好膽固醇的水平,增加患上心血管疾病的機會。目前世界衞生組織建議,反式脂肪攝取量應維持於極低水平 – 即少於人體每天所需熱量的 1%。以每天攝取 2,000千卡的素食者為例,反式脂肪的每天攝取量應少於 2.2 克。

均衡素食的基石全穀類食物

白糖丶精鍊的白麵包及白米雖屬於醣類,但加工過程中導致大部分的營養素如維他命B、礦物質及膳食纖維流失,建議素食者應多吃未經過分打磨的全穀物如糙米或紅米飯、全麥麵包、全麥麵和全麥意粉等。市面上常見的全穀類食物包括如大米(糙米)、紅米、大麥、小麥、蕎麥、藜麥丶小米、燕麥、黑麥等。

不可缺的植物性蛋白質

蛋白質可分為完整蛋白質(Complete protein)及非完整蛋白質(Incomplete protein)兩種。完整蛋白質是指含有全部20種必需胺基酸 (Essential Amino acids) 食物,主要來自動物性食物如肉類、魚類、雞蛋、海鮮、奶品類及黃豆類(如豆腐、豆漿、豆乾等) 。而非完整蛋白質是指那些未完全含有20種必需胺基酸的食物,主要來自穀類、蔬果、堅果、種子和其他乾豆類 (黃豆除外)。在某種植物性食物蛋白質中所缺乏的氨基酸,在另一種植物性食物中卻含較量豐富,所以可以作互補不足,這稱這為「蛋白質互補 (Complimentary Protein) 」。

較健康的植物性蛋白質包括:大豆製成品如硬豆腐丶軟豆腐丶黃豆丶豆腐乾丶鮮腐竹丶百頁丶高鈣低糖豆漿等。其他可提供植物性蛋白質的有乾豆類如紅豆丶黑豆丶廌嘴豆丶小扁豆丶紅腰豆等和各式果仁及種子,甚至果仁醬包括花生醬丶杏仁醬丶芝麻醬和腰果醬。如屬於蛋奶素食者,他們可以從雞蛋和牛奶產品中攝取足夠優質蛋白。

細選有「營」脂肪

由於素食者不吃動物脂肪的關係,他們的飽和脂肪攝取量一般比肉食者低,但一些來自植物的脂肪亦含大量有害心臟健康的飽和脂肪。一些植物油亦含大量飽和脂肪如棕櫚油和椰子油。而反式脂肪主要來自以氫化植物油 (hydrogenated fats),植物起酥油 (vegetables shortening)及人造牛油 (margarine)等。素食者應盡量少吃以上不健康的植物油。應多選不飽和脂肪包括多元及單元不飽和脂肪,特別要留意來自植物的奧米茄三脂肪酸,可來自種子及其種子油如亞麻籽/油、奇亞籽丶堅果(如合桃)及堅果油 等。

減肥的原理總離不開以減少食量和多做運動來燃燒身體額外的脂肪才可達到目標,建議素食者也要跟隨低脂肪丶低糖丶低鈉丶高纖維的素食的方式去减輕體重。所有人,無論素食者與否,都建議定期進行有氧運動如散步,跑步,騎單車,游泳,行山等,每週3-5次,每次約30分鐘,以達到健康的體重。

Enter your search terms:
Top

To lose weight, one has to become a vegetarian?

Written by: Ms. Sylvia Lam, Accredited Practicing Dietitian APD, Accredited Dietitian HKDA.

Many studies have found out that a balanced vegetarian diet can reduce the chance of developing chronic disease including obesity, heart disease, hyperlipidemia, hypertension, type 2 diabetes, kidney disease, osteoporosis and some cancers. In recent years, some studies have shown that vegetarian diet can also help improve mental health. The main reason is that vegetarians consume less saturated fat, trans fats and animal protein, as well as more beneficial nutrients such as dietary fiber, unsaturated fats (mono, poly, and omega 3 and 6 fatty acids), vitamin. A, C and E, folic acid, potassium, magnesium antioxidants and other phytonutrients. Vegetarians also pay more attention to other health factors than non-vegetarians, such as less smoking, less alcohol, and more exercise. Therefore, vegetarians usually weigh lighter than those who eat meat, while vegans weigh the lightest.

There are many types of vegetarians, for example:

But in fact, as long as one can achieve a low-fat balanced diet, both vegetarian and non-vegetarian can make better health. On the contrary, if you eat unhealthily, despite being a vegetarian or not, it can also lead to malnutrition or over-nutrition (i.e. overweight and obesity). Some vegetarian foods can be very in high calories and fats. For example, potato chips, French fries, chocolate, soda, juice, coconut milk, candy, sweet buns, instant noodles, margarine, non-dairy creamer, coconut oil and palm oil, salad dressing or other vegetable oil. Excessive consumption of these foods will also lead to obesity. A study published in the American College of Cardiology in 2017 reported that if followed an unbalanced vegetarian diet, the risk of heart disease was increased by 32%.

On the other hand, Chinese-style vegetarian dishes often use fried, braised with heavy oil and covered with sauces which make vegetarian foods unhealthy. For example, a dish of stir-fry vegetarian egg-foo noodle already contains about 1,300 kcal and 14 teaspoons of oil; while a dish of Rohan with rice has about 900 kcal and 9 teaspoons of oil. Other soybean foods such as fried tofu pop, deep fried soy gluten, Chinese fake meat and deep-fried bamboo sheet are all very high in fat; therefore, vegetarians who are overweight or obese should eat less of these vegetarian foods.

Besides, may people think that consuming more fruits and fruit juice is harmless, but don’t forget that fruits and juices contain large amount of fructose and calories. Excessive consumption may affect blood sugar and triglyceride levels, and it is also unfavorable for weight control.

In addition to sugar and fat, some vegetarian foods may also contain high levels of trans fat. Excessive trans-fat can increase bad cholesterol in the blood, while lowering the level of good cholesterol resulting in increased risk of cardiovascular disease. The World Health Organization recommends that trans-fat intake should be kept as low as possible which is less than 1% of the total energy intake. For example, a vegetarian who consumes 2,000 kcal per day should have a daily intake of less than 2.2 grams of trans fat a day.

The cornerstone of a balanced vegetarian diet – whole grain food

White sugar, white bread and white rice are all refined carbohydrates, and most important nutrients such as vitamin B, minerals and dietary fiber are lost during processing. It is recommended that vegetarians should eat whole grains such as brown rice or red rice that have not been polished, wheat bread, whole wheat noodles and whole wheat spaghetti. Common wholegrains that are commonly found in the supermarket include brown rice, red rice, barley, wheat, buckwheat, quinoa, millet, oats, and rye.

Indispensable vegetable protein

Proteins can be divided into complete incomplete protein. Complete protein refers to foods that can provide all 20 essential amino acids which mainly come from animal foods such as meat, fish, eggs, seafood, milk and soybeans (such as tofu, soy milk, dried beans). Incomplete proteins are foods that do not provide all 20 essential amino acids and they are mainly from wholegrains, fruits and vegetables, nuts, seeds, and other legumes (excluding soy beans). The amino acids that are lacking in certain plant food maybe abundant other plant foods, so they can be complemented. This is called “Complimentary Protein”.

Healthier plant protein mainly includes soy products such as hard tofu, soft tofu, soy bean, soybeans, bean curd, fresh bean curd sheet, Shanghainese bean curd sheet (“Pak Yip”) and high calcium and low sugar soy milk. Other vegetable-derived proteins include legumes such as red bean, black bean, chickpeas, lentils, red kidney beans, and various kinds of nuts and seeds, and even nut butter, such as peanut butter, almond butter sesame paste and cashew butter. If one is ovo-lacto vegetarians, they can get enough quality protein from eggs and milk products.

Fine selection of good fats

As vegetarians do not eat animal fat, their saturated fat intake is generally lower than that of meat eaters, but some plant-derived fats also contain a lot of saturated fats that are harmful to heart health. Vegetable oils that contain large amounts of saturated fat are palm oil and coconut oil. Trans fats are mainly derived from hydrogenated fats, vegetables shortening and margarine. Vegetarians should try to eat less of the above unhealthy vegetable oils. One should choose more unsaturated fats including poly- and monounsaturated fats, especially omega-3 fatty acids from plants, which can be found in seeds and their seed oils such as flaxseed/oil and chia seed; and nuts (such as walnut) and its nut oil.

The principle of weight loss is inseparable from reducing the calories from the amount of food eaten and exercise to burn extra body fat. It is recommended that vegetarians also follow a low fat, sugar, salt and high-fiber vegetarian diet in order to achieve weight loss. All people no matter vegetarians or not are suggested to perform regular cardio exercise such as walking, running, cycling, swimming, hiking etc., 3-5 times a week at about 30 minutes each time to achieve a healthy weight.